Colorado DUI Laws
Colorado law enforcement classifies drunk driving offenses as Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI) at a blood alcohol concentration of .05% but less than .08%, and Driving Under the Influence (DUI) at a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or higher.
There is a lot of discussion about whether you need a DUI/DWAI attorney if it’s your first offense in Colorado. Regardless of our choice you should definitely know the penalties in Colorado.
Your 1st DWAI in Boulder
For you first DWAI offense the penalties are 8 points on your drivers’ license, a $200 to $500 find, up to 6 months in jail, and up to 48 hours of community service.
Your 1st DUI in Boulder
For your first DUI, the penalties can be a loss of your license for 9 months, a $600 to $1000 fine, up to a year in jail, and up to 96 hours of community service. In Colorado all prior DUI and DWAI offenses are relevant and can be considered in sentencing and penalty issues?
Boulder attorney Paul Stuber offers a free consultation about your case if you’re not sure if you need an attorney.
When you are a repeat offender, or there are circumstances like multiple charges, or you’re a repeat offender, you absolutely need a DUI/DWAI attorney. You might be OK without a DUI or DWAI Attorney if it’s your first offense, and there are no other complications like:
- Reckless driving
- A minor in the vehicle
- A very high blood/alcohol level
- Be sure to understand that there are significant benefits of having an attorney even if it is your first offense. Those benefits are:
- Boulder attorneys have knowledge of the local court system.
- DUI/DWAI attorneys have expertise in plea bargaining that you may need.
- The attorney’s experience with the administrative aspects of local legal systems in Boulder and surrounding communities can be very helpful.
People often do not realize the damage a DUI can do. Aside from the fact that it stays on your driving record for years, it can become difficult to get auto insurance coverage and the rates can be astronomical. One of the most important reasons to hire a DUI/DWAI attorney is simply for the advice. Your attorney may keep you out of jail, or keep you from saying the wrong thing at the wrong time, or negotiate your charge to a less serious one.
For more information call the Law Office Of Paul Stuber today at (303) 442-6448.